12 Dec 2023


Malaysia: Visa Liberalization Plan Details Released

As part of the government of Malaysia’s widely anticipated Visa Liberalization Plan, which aims to encourage the entry of foreign tourists to Malaysia, Chinese and Indian nationals will not be required to secure a social visit pass prior to entry to Malaysia starting 1 December 2023 until 31 December 2024. Citizens of these nationalities will receive a 30-day period of stay and no extensions will be granted. This visa exemption will not allow an individual to work or study in Malaysia; however, they can enter Malaysia for tourism purposes under this exemption. If they qualify for a longer-term pass, they could potentially change their 30-day social visit pass to another long-term visit pass while in the country.

Additionally, between 1 December 2023 to 31 December 2026, all multiple entry visas will have an extended validity period up to six (6) months, instead of the usual three (3) months. This will provide an easement of entry and exit into Malaysia. Approval of the extension is not automatic and is subject to the immigration authority’s discretion.

The government has also introduced a new Graduate Visit Pass (Social) for international students from 23 countries who have completed or are going to complete a bachelor’s degree and above in any Institution of Higher Learning in Malaysia (no age limit). The Grad Pass is a type of Long-Term Social Visit Pass (LTSVP) and is valid for up to 12 months with an MEV (Multiple Entry Visa). Dependents are also eligible for the Long-Term Social Visit Pass (LTSVP) following the Pass validity of the principal holder. The 23 participating countries are Australia, Bahrain, Brunei, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Japan, Kuwait, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, Sweden, UAE, UK, and USA.

The plan includes an improvement of visa validity period and social visit pass eligibility period between 1 December 2023 to 31 December 2026. This means that all visas issued for entry to Malaysia will have a longer validity period for entry purposes only, i.e., from three (3) months to six (6) months. This extension of visa validity will also apply to eVisa/Visa with Reference (VDR) where an applicant must apply before entering Malaysia for their Long-Term Pass Endorsement. This will provide more flexibility for those moving long term to Malaysia or for those with changing travel plans.

Additionally, for nationals of 22 countries, the Social Visit Pass duration has been increased from 14 days to 30 days. These countries include: Angola, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Colombia, Congo Democratic Republic, Congo Republic, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Hong Kong (C.I/D.II), Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mozambique, Nigeria, Niger and Rwanda.

Effective as of 1 December 2023, all foreign visitors must complete the Malaysia Digital Arrival Card (MDAC) online at with the exception of the following:

  1. All Singapore passport holders
  2. Holders of Diplomatic and Official Passport
  3. Permanent Residents of Malaysia and Malaysia Long Term Pass Holders (like EP, PVP, RPT, DP, LTSVP, etc.)
  4. Brunei Certificate of General Identification (GCI)
  5. Brunei Malaysia Frequent Traveller Facility Holder
  6. Thai Border Pass Holders
  7. Indonesian Border Crossing Pass (PLB) Holders

If you have questions about the current updates to the government of Malaysia’s immigration plan, please reach out to the T&S APAC team.

© 2021 Tafapolsky & Smith LLP. All rights reserved.
The content above is provided for informational purposes only. It should not be construed as legal advice on any subject matter. Use of this information does not create an attorney-client relationship.