Warning: Undefined array key "social_network" in /nas/content/live/tandslaw/wp-content/themes/Divi/includes/builder/module/settings/migration/SocialMediaFollowNetworkTwitterToX.php on line 69
COVID-19 Immigration Update | Tafapolsky & Smith LLP


01 Apr 2020

United States

COVID-19 Immigration Update

Effective as of 3 April 2020, entry to Japan will be denied to the travelers who have stayed in any of the following countries within 14 days prior to arrival in Japan: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Bahrain, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Chinese Taipei, Congo (Dem. Rep.), Cote d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Rep., Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, South Korea, Kosovo, Israel, Indonesia, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao, Malaysia, Mauritius, Moldova, Morocco, Montenegro, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Panama, Philippines, Singapore, Slovakia, Serbia, Thailand, Poland, Romania, Turkey, United Kingdom, USA and Vietnam. Similarly barred from entering Japan are Chinese citizens with passports issued in the Hubei and Zhejiang Provinces.

The entry ban does not apply to Japanese citizens, spouses and children of Japanese citizens, and non-Japanese citizens with Permanent Residence or Long-Term residence status in Japan who departed Japan with re-entry permission prior to 2 April 2020. All non-Japanese citizens who departed Japan on or after 3 April 2020 will in principle be subject to refusal upon re-entry even if they had re-entry permission upon departure from Japan.

© 2022 Tafapolsky & Smith LLP. All rights reserved.
The content above is provided for informational purposes only. It should not be construed as legal advice on any subject matter. Use of this information does not create an attorney-client relationship. 

Key Contacts

Alan Tafapolsky


Robin Paulino


J. Anthony Smith


Related News

Email Alerts