Covid-19 Updates

last updated 26 Dec 2020

Russia Covid-19 Regulations

  1. Entry Restrictions

International travel to Russia is currently restricted, except for the following passengers:

  • Nationals of Russia and their family members;
  • Permanent residents of Russia;
  • Nationals and residents of Cuba, Egypt, Ethiopia, Japan, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Maldives, Serbia, Seychelles, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom, if arriving from their country of nationality/residency;
  • Nationals and residents of Belarus if arriving from Belarus;
  • Nationals and residents of Kyrgyzstan if arriving from Kyrgyzstan;
  • Passengers in transit travelling via Moscow (Sheremetyevo) to a third country, if they have a confirmed ticket for the continuation of the flight and a medical document (in Russian or English) confirming a negative result of the material laboratory tests for COVID-19 PCR test issued within 72 hours prior to arrival in Russia;
  • Passengers holding work visas as high-qualified specialists;
  • Passengers holding technical visas.

The issuance of e-visas has been temporarily suspended until further notice.

Effective 22 December 2020, all flights from the United Kingdom to Russia have been suspended for at least one (1) week. This suspension of air travel will not impact the issuance of official invitation letters and visas to applicants residing in the United Kingdom.

Passengers entering or transiting Russia, except for nationals of Russia, must possess a medical certificate (in either Russian or English) showing a negative COVID-19 PCR test result issued 72 hours prior to arrival in Russia.

Passengers must also complete, print and present an application form upon arrival in Russia.

2. Quarantine/Self-Isolation Requirements

Effective 26 December 2020, a mandatory 14-day quarantine has been implemented for international travelers arriving in Russia from the United Kingdom, regardless of their purpose of travel to Russia. This quarantine requirement also applies to Russian citizens returning to Russia. Travelers to the quarantine requirement must complete the entire 14-day period either at their temporary or permanent residence in Russia or at a facility designated by the Russian Government.

Please note that this page is updated on an ongoing basis, but COVID-19 related restrictions and policies are subject to frequent and sudden change, often with little to no advance notice to the public. Therefore, to ensure that you have the latest updates, we recommend that you reach out to T&S at for additional information.

←Back to COVID-19 Info Center

Key Contact

Robin Paulino


Covid-19 Updates

U.S. Imposes Entry Ban on Travelers from Certain African Countries

On November 26, 2021, President Biden signed a Presidential Proclamation (PP) related to the ongoing national emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The World Health Organization recently identified a new variant of concern known as Omicron, first detected in...

Email Alerts